mass-effect-andromeda
Mass Effect: Andromeda’s Mako Bioware/EA

I have played a lot of The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt. CD Projekt RED were not kidding around when they dangled 200+ hours of gameplay before my eyes. I am a feverish completionist when it comes to roleplaying games (RPGs), and I can say without pause that through my adventures in Witcher 3, I was not bored once. The only other RPG franchise that has held my attention continuously for this long was the ‘original’ Mass Effect trilogy.

With that thought, I simply had to write this piece. The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt has been fabulous for gaming. It has perfected the concept The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim proved (that of a sprawling open world), it has shown the industry that deep, people driven story telling still reigns supreme, and it has pitted itself against one of gaming’s most toxic corporate practices—rampant abuse of paid downloadable content (DLC). These traits are all things I hope to see in Mass Effect: Andromeda, the start of a new chapter in the franchise, using DICE’s Frostbite engine.

Read the full opinion piece at APGNation.

Leave a Reply

