I thought it was time for a change, and time to take my writing a bit more seriously. I’ve been pushing out more content over at APGNation, working on political commentary for my Medium blog, and getting early research sorted for my dissertation next year. As such I grabbed a great new theme free from WordPress and trashed some of the excess garbage that was clogging up the timeline on the blog.

From now on, most of the content posted or shared on this blog will be things I have written, with rare exceptions for noteworthy pieces I find around the web that add context to or complement my work.

As for the future, I hope to get the ball rolling with my new weekly segment Let’s Talk Xbox, work on a couple of the stronger ideas for political and foreign policy articles, and get things back into gear with my role at Groundings Ancients (the submission deadline is soon so my job as an editor really only just starts then).

You may have noticed that my work has shifted slightly away from Gamergate and controversy. This is an intentional move. The movement has lost most of its momentum, and frankly I just never come out with anything good when I write about it. I also made a huge gaff recently by responding to a year old article and got deservedly embarrassed by the author. It was a humbling experience and one I hope not to repeat. As such I will be getting people I trust to read over my blog posts before I put them out, and paying extra attention to advice from my editors. We all get knocked down some times, I am just glad it was early on.

As always, thanks for reading.

Alasdair

Leave a Reply

