I got promoted

Long story short, I applied to for the Deputy News Editor position at my university’s newspaper The Gaudie, and after a couple interviews, I got accepted.

Last year I wrote a few features for the paper’s now-defunct Gaming and Technology segment of the IV Magazine insert, before moving to news as a reporter. After familiarizing myself  with their style guide (Guardian) and getting used to the paper’s format, this position seemed a perfect next step after my work experience at The Press and Journal this summer.

I will now be helping the awesome section editor Michaela and the head editors Aemilia and Gemma improve and grow the news section, pursuing more investigative stories and working to get the digital edition back up and running. Hopefully, we can recruit a few more writers as well now that there are two of us working news.

Let’s hope the digital edition gets up and running again so I can start posting my stories again as they get published.

As usual, thanks for reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

